deutsch    english    español     français    italiano
   nederlandse     polska    português




Gluten is a cereal protein found in rye, wheat, barley and oats and strengthens the structure of bread when baking bread. Wheat and its "predecessor" cereals such as spelt, einkorn or emmer are rich in gluten. Gluten-free bread is free of all these cereals. Instead, corn or rice flour is baked, and the structure is strengthened by adding locust bean gum.

The formulations were developed for people suffering from celiac disease or indigenous sprue. You're allergic to gluten. This alters their intestinal mucosa so it disturbs the digestion of all foodstuffs. Diarrhoea and nutrient deficiencies lead to blatant weight loss, listlessness and weakness. It is a hereditary disease. Infants and young children are at risk. The symptoms only disappear if the affected persons do not eat the usual cereal products made from spelt, wheat, rye, barley and oats, not only bread but also green spelt roasts, oat or spelt flakes, noodles and all other foods containing flour, semolina or flakes.

The high-quality composition of "alternative" i.e. gluten-free flours in bread with other ingredients such as buckwheat, potatoes, soy and/or sunflower seeds and the good taste make the "gluten-free" also a healthy pleasure for everyone.

Author: Brigitte Neumann