Gluten-free bread - for whom?

Gluten is a cereal protein that occurs in rye, wheat, barley and oats and strengthens the structure of bread during bread baking. Wheat and its "predecessor"cereals such as spelt, einkorn or emmer are particularly rich in gluten. Gluten-free bread is free of all these cereals. Instead, maize or rice flour is baked and the structure is strengthened by adding locust bean gum.

The recipes were originally developed primarily for people suffering from celiac disease or indigenous celiac disease. They are allergic to gluten. Their intestinal mucous membrane changes so that the digestion of all food is disturbed. Diarrhoea and nutritional deficiencies lead to blatant weight loss, lack of drive and weakness. Probably a hereditary disease. Infants and young children are particularly at risk. The symptoms only disappear if those affected eat almost completely free of the usual cereal products made from spelt, wheat, rye, barley and oats, and if they do not only abstain from bread, but also from roasted green kernels, oats or spelt flakes, noodles and all other foods containing flour, semolina or flakes.

The high-quality composition of "alternative" i. e. gluten-free flours in bread with further ingredients such as buckwheat, potatoes, soybeans and/or sunflower seeds and the good taste make the "gluten-free" but also long ago a healthy pleasure for everyone.

Written by Brigitte Neumann